Special Education Resources

What is Special Education?

https://www.schools.nyc.gov/learning/special-education

 

 

What is an IEP?

The Individualized Education Program (IEP) is a written statement of our plan to provide your child with a Free and Appropriate Public Education (FAPE) in their Least Restrictive Environment (LRE).

https://www.schools.nyc.gov/learning/special-education/the-iep-process/the-iep

 

 

The IEP Process:

Click the link below to learn more about the following:

- Starting the IEP process

- Making a referral

- Evaluations

- What happens during an IEP meeting.

https://www.schools.nyc.gov/learning/special-education/the-iep-process

 

 

Supports and Services on an IEP:

If your child qualifies for special education services, they may require additional supports to help them in school such as Assistive technology, Behavior supports, Related services and/or Testing accommodations.

Click the link below to learn more about each topic listed above.

https://www.schools.nyc.gov/learning/special-education/supports-and-services

 

 

Related Service Providers here at PS/IS 187

School Counselor: Julie McCullough jmccullough3@schools.nyc.gov

School Counselor: Julie Chen jchen17@schools.nyc.gov

Speech and Language Provider: Richard Reid rreid@schools.nyc.gov

Speech and Language Provider: Marianna Dilluvio mdilluvio3@schools.nyc.gov

Occupational Therapy: Rachel Pinkerton rpinkerton@schools.nyc.gov

Physical Therapy: Mindy Daar mdaar@schools.nyc.gov

Hearing Teacher: Jasmine Stobbe jstobbe@schools.nyc.gov

 

 

PS/IS 187 School Assessment Team

If you have further questions regarding special education services, please feel free to reach out to the following School Assessment Team Members

School Psychologist: Adriana Mendez amendez15@schools.nyc.gov

Family Worker: Brittney Hernandez bhernandez18@schools.nyc.gov

Social Worker: Elena Rosario erosari2@schools.nyc.gov

 

IEP Teacher: Kelly DeAddio kdeaddio@schools.nyc.gov

  • White Instagram Icon

© PS/IS 187 Hudson Cliffs  

Proudly created with Wix.com

Contact Us

Tel:  (212) 927-8218

Address

349 Cabrini Blvd

New York, NY 10040