September 19th, 2023

Parent Representatives

- 1. Joy Waitkus/Co Chair SLT Elected Parent Rep
- 2. Jackie Cruz PTO Co President
- 3. Kelly Ceynowa- Elected Parent Rep
- 4. Emily Hardy Elected Parent Rep
- 5. Karima Khawja Elected Parent Rep

Staff Representatives

- 1. Christopher Jennings/Co Chair SLT UFT Chapter Leader
- 2. Emel Topbas-Mejia- Principal
- 3. Jessica Mitchell -4th Grade General Education Teacher
- 4. Samantha Pastore Health/PE Teacher IS
- 5. Marie Marricco 5th Grade General Education Teacher
- 1. Welcome
- 2. Introduction of new and returning members of SLT Roles & Responsibilities
 - a. S. Sanders has a scheduling conflict and is willing to step down. In this event, there is a staff member interested in taking on the role and staff will hold elections if contested.
 - a. Meetings moved from Tuesdays to the 3rd Thursday of each month
- 3. Review and Approval of June 2023 Minutes approved
- 4. Principal's Updates Addressing family concerns
 - a. New Staff member introductions provided names & roles in the building
 - b. Due to budget shortage and our school community needs the Assistant Principal position in the ES is vacant
 - c. AP vacancy can be revisited if the budget changes, usually mid-year
 - d. 187 hired more licensed Special Education teachers needed to ensure students'
 & scheduling needs were met particularly with SETTS & ICT
 - e. There is a hiring freeze for school aides and the window to hire varies from year to year.
 - f. Mr. Mendez is transitioning into the dean role, leading peer mediation, as well as spearheading the school's restorative practices
- 3. CEP Review
 - a. Team logged into iPlan portal to review CEP goals
 - b. Team will progress monitor the action plan
 - Revised action plan for literacy to include grade level teams reviewing ELA June Instructional Report
 - ii. Each of the subcommittees will focus on the action plan for each of their "buckets"

- c. Formation of Subcommittees
 - i. School Culture Subcommittee will be led by Kelly Ceynowa
 - a. Participants Jackie Cruz, Samantha Pastore, Karima Khawja
 - ii. Academics Subcommittee will be led by Joy Waitkus
 - a. Participants Jessica Mitchell, Marie Marricco, Christopher Jennings, Emily Hardy